Ripples!?

I made too many changes at once: new paper, staples instead of tape, a new (larger) size. What was I thinking? The rippling issue was new and a little disturbing, and I couldn’t narrow down the cause with so many new variables. (They disappeared as the paper dried, but the paper was pulling off the board while I was working. Aack!)

The paper, a 42″ roll of Strathmore watercolor paper, is great! This particular painting required a lot of layers, weeks of fiddling around to get it to work, and the paper held up so much better than the paper I was using up before. I wish I’d switched much earlier.

Betty Mallorca  |  Love’s Labor #4, Bertha Series Five  |  42″ x 56″ | acrylic on paper

new paper

art studio

new paper, in studio
Leave a Reply

